By - - 0 Comments

Snapchat introduced Snap Map, an opt-in function that allows you to share your location with your friends on a map. Snapchat’s introduction video to Snap Map focuses on sharing the location of posted Snaps to Our Story, which is public, and could be useful for, say, seeing a collection of Snaps from a particular event. But what Snapchat doesn’t tell you in the video, or in the app, is that if you aren’t careful enough, Snap Map will broadcast your exact location to anyone on your friend’s list every time you open the app. This can be dangerous for your teen if they are not careful about online predators. Why not Disable Snap Map Feature in Snapchat?

Snapchat, for instance, has announced that it built a whole new way to explore the world. It’s basically a location-sharing feature. The idea is, with this new Snap Map feature, you can easily meet up with friends in real life. It lets you share your current location, which then appears to friends on a map and instantly updates as soon as you open Snapchat. Quite risky, no? 

See Also: How to Fake Your Snapchat Location On Snap Map

How to Disable Snap Map  Feature Via Snapchat Settings

1. Access the Snap Map Settings.

The first most step is you have to launch the app. After the app is launched, just pinch in on the camera viewfinder to enter the Snap Map mode. While you are there, you can zoom in on the map to see what’s trending around the world. To access the settings tap on the settings icon at the top right as shown in the picture.

Disable Snap Map Feature in Snapchat

Disable Snap Map Feature in Snapchat

2. Select Who Can See Your Location.

In the Snap Map settings page, you can set your preferences as to who can see you on the map. By default “My Friends” option will be selected which means all your Snapchat friends will be able to see you on the Snap Map. But, if you wish to share with some friends then you can also select which friends will be able to access your location. To do that, you have to just click on the “Select Friends” option and then you have to select the friends with whom you want to share your location with.

Note: If you do not want to allow anyone to access your location, enable the Ghost Mode. Now no one will be able to access your location and see you on the Snap Map.

Disable Snap Map Feature in Snapchat

Disable Snap Map Feature in Snapchat

Disabling Snapchat’s Location Permission Permanently

The following steps will make sure that none of your friends or anyone else for that matter will be able to access your location. However, just turning on ghost mode does not stop Snapchat from accessing your location data. If privacy is your utmost concern, you have to disable location permission provided to Snapchat from your phone’s internal settings. Note: after doing this, you will also not be able to use any of the Snapchat’s geo-filters.

  • Simply go to Settings >Location >Snapchat >App permissions and there click on disable access to Location permission.

Disable Snap Map Feature in Snapchat

Disable Snap Map Feature in Snapchat

Disable Snap Map Feature in Snapchat

That’s it! This is how you can easily Disable Snap Map Feature in Snapchat. In case of any queries or doubt, don’t forget to comment down below.

For more iOs or Android How-tos, head over to iOs How-tos or Android How-tos section right away.